Design Blocks

Local Design – The Importance of Knowing your City

Posted on: November 5, 2010

One of my all time favorite books is one I picked up while I was a design student. I have always been fascinated with looking at buildings and interiors and I always want to know more about them. Well if you feel the same way I encourage all of you to pick up a copy of Jacksonville’s Architectural Heritage – Landmarks for the Future which was created by the Jacksonville Historic Preservation Commission.

This book is over 400 pages long and has ton’s of pictures depicting Jacksonville’s history and growth. It covers all parts of town and it is just amazing to look at what once was and what still is around. You will also learn about famous area architects and how they helped shape Jacksonville after the great fire. You can pick up your own copy at any local bookstore or you can even it purchase it online from Barnes and Noble and Amazon. I hope you all run out and pick up copies for yourselves, friends and family. Don’t forget Christmas is coming up!  🙂

2 Responses to "Local Design – The Importance of Knowing your City"

Yes! This Historic Preservation site was also used in the Design Concept class when the student’s need to use a historical style as their inspiration for a condo design located in Riverside.

Stephanie that is great! It popped in my head to share this book because it is one of my favorites. I am planning to create some posts about some of the architecture/architects here in town. I am sure Klutho will be first because his work is so identifiable and the students can still view it.

Leave a Reply

